A Walk Around Ladybower Reservoir
Ladybower is one of three large reservoirs located in the beautiful Upper Derwent Valley in the Peak District. It’s surrounded by wonderful countryside and, at 5.5 miles, our easy circular walk around part of its shores is a great way to spend a day, especially with a picnic (no barbecues please) or a meal at the nearby Yorkshire Bridge Inn afterwards.
The route passes the awe-inspiring Derwent Dam, scene of the practice flights for the famous Dambusters raids during WWII. The accessibility of the track makes it suitable for family-friendly cycling and users of all-terrain wheelchairs or pushchairs, as well as hikers and dog walkers.
At the time of its construction, between 1935 and 1943, it was the largest reservoir in Britain. Ladybower is renowned for the drowned villages of Derwent and Ashopton that lie beneath its waters, the ruins of both villages being submerged when the reservoir was filled. Parts of the village of Derwent can be still be seen on the shoreline after periods of dry weather.
For refreshments and information before or after your walk, call in at the Visitor Centre, known as Fairholmes Visitor Centre. It’s managed by the Peak District National Park Authority and has a small gift shop, a takeaway food kiosk and toilets, as well as a range of information boards about the area.
To follow our Ladybower Circular Walk (5.5 miles), click here:
More about Ladybower Reservoir
To find out more about Ladybower Reservoir, click on the button below:
How do I get to Ladybower Reservoir?
Ladybower Reservoir is located just outside the Peak District village of Bamford in Derbyshire, on the A57 Sheffield to Glossop road (Snake Pass). There is ample car parking throughout the area, and at the Fairholmes Visitor Centre you’ll find a café, gift shop, toilets and information (S33 0AQ).
Ladybower Reservoir Parking and What3words address for Fairholmes ///riverside.trapdoor.suitcase
Ladybower Reservoir Weather
Whilst there explore the nearby village of Bamford too…
The pretty village of Bamford is beautifully located in the Hope Valley, underneath the dramatic heights of Bamford Edge, on the banks of the River Derwent. From here the river flows into the Upper Derwent Valley and feeds Ladybower, Derwent and Howden Reservoirs.
Bamford is a small village but well worth exploring. It has some lovely old buildings, including the picturesque parish church of St John the Baptist, which was built in 1860.
Bamford Mill has now been converted into residential flats, but it is an impressive building, built in 1782. It was used first as a corn mill, then a cotton mill, employing more than 130 people at the height of its industry. It closed in the 1990s.
Bamford is also proudly home to the UK’s first community-owned and managed pub, The Anglers’ Rest, which runs as a café, Post Office and gift shop as well as a pub. A little further out of the village is the Yorkshire Bridge Inn, beautifully located on the banks of Ladybower Reservoir. It serves great pub food and real ales.