The pretty village of Bamford is beautifully located in the Hope Valley, underneath the dramatic heights of Bamford Edge, on the banks of the River Derwent. From here the river flows into the Upper Derwent Valley and feeds Ladybower, Derwent and Howden Reservoirs.
Bamford is a small village but well worth exploring. It has some lovely old buildings, including the picturesque parish church of St John the Baptist, which was built in 1860.
Bamford Mill has now been converted into residential flats, but it is an impressive building, built in 1782. It was used first as a corn mill, then a cotton mill, employing more than 130 people at the height of its industry. It closed in the 1990s.
Bamford is also proudly home to the UK’s first community-owned and managed pub, The Anglers’ Rest, which runs as a café, Post Office and gift shop as well as a pub. A little further out of the village is the Yorkshire Bridge Inn, beautifully located on the banks of Ladybower Reservoir. It serves great pub food and real ales.
Bamford has the distinction of being the closest village to Ladybower Reservoir. Between them, the Upper Derwent Valley reservoirs cover almost 200 square kilometres, and can hold a staggering 464 billion litres of water. They are surrounded by the most stunning scenery, straddling the Peak District counties of Derbyshire and Yorkshire, and the area is superb for walking, cycling and riding.
Read more about Ladybower Reservoir and the Upper Derwent Valley here.
Walks in the area:
For a gentle walk around Ladybower Reservoir, click here.
For a more challenging walk on Derwent Edge, click here.
For a walk from Bamford train station, click here.
For a cycle ride around Derwent and Howden Reservoirs, click here.
For an MTB trail around the Upper Derwent Valley, click here.