The Miners Arms is a traditional 17th Century country pub and restaurant in the beautiful, historic village of Eyam. Nestled in the heart of the village and surrounded by the stunning countryside of the Derbyshire Peak District, it’s the perfect place to unwind and relax. The Miners Arms also offers 7 en-suite Bed and Breakfast rooms, including single, double and twin bedrooms.
The Miners Arms : A Historic Pub
The Miners Arms is a historic pub dating back to the
1600s. Formerly The King’s Head, it was
renamed in 1764 to reflect the fact that the owners of the many mines in the
area used the pub as a meeting place. From
1812 onwards the pub was used for meetings of the Prosecution of Felons Committee,
which is still in existence to this day.
As you might expect for a pub of this age, The Miners Arms is reputed to be haunted. Two young girls who died in a fire on the site before the pub was built are said to make their presence known to visitors, as well as an ex-landlady who was murdered here by her husband. Her old-fashioned dress allegedly makes a loud rustling noise as she roams the corridors at night!
Today you’ll find a relaxed, friendly environment in The
Miners Arms. The main bar area is open 7
days a week from 12.00pm to 11.00pm, with a great range of real ales.
The pub garden has extensive seating – it’s the perfect place to enjoy a meal or just a drink in the afternoon sun after exploring the lovely village of Eyam. Children, walkers, cyclists and dogs are all welcome.
The Miners Arms : Food
The Miners Arms offers an extensive range of high quality pub food, whether you’re looking for a quick bar snack or a full restaurant meal. All food is freshly cooked to order using the finest ingredients, locally sourced wherever possible. The menu changes regularly to add variety and depth, and there is always a Specials Board.
After a day soaking up the Peak District fresh air, the warm, comfortable rooms at The Miners Arms provide an ideal place to unwind. All comfortable, spacious bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms/shower rooms, as well as TVs and tea/coffee-making facilities. A full English or light breakfast is included, which you can enjoy within the setting of the cosy dining room.
Prices start from £45 per night for a single room. For further information, to check availability or to make a booking, please get in touch with The Miners Arms using the Contact Form below.
The Miners Arms : Location
The pretty village of Eyam lies in the Derbyshire Peak District. It has loads to offer visitors, with a fascinating, inspiring history and a wealth of interesting buildings to explore.
Eyam is perhaps best known for being the site of an outbreak
of the plague in the 1600s. The entire
village was stricken and hundreds of residents died. There are numerous plaques outside the
historic buildings in the village to mark where events took place, as well as a
number of ancient graves.
In 1665 the village’s rector persuaded the local residents
to quarantine themselves to prevent the spread of disease to neighbouring
areas. This huge act of sacrifice meant
that nobody left or entered Eyam for the next 14 months, during which time at
least 270 of the 350 villagers died of the plague. Supplies were brought in to the village and
left on a boundary stone, with the money to pay for them left on the same stone
in exchange. The Boundary Stone still stands to this day and can be seen
on a short walk from the village.
Eyam boasts a beautiful 14th Century church, and a small but interesting museum dedicated to the history of the village.
A further point of interest in the village is the Jacobean Eyam Hall, built in 1672 just after the plague ended. The Hall and its lovely walled gardens are open to the public, and the old stable yard houses a number of local craft and food shops.
There is a small Visitor Information Centre on the village
green opposite Eyam Hall, as well as a pair of ancient stocks used for
punishing villagers for minor offences.